Posted on

Well hello there, film lovers!

Hey friends!

Normally when I can’t think of a wham! In your face! kind of entry to a paper or letter or whatever, I google a definition. I’ve always thought it’s an excellent way of plunging the reader headfirst into a subject, as well as a sneaky way of legitimizing your opinion by citing someone way cooler than you. Ergo, in my musings about how exactly to start off the coolest blog in the world, I returned to my roots, and this is what I found:

“Hollywood is a place where a man can get stabbed in the back while climbing a ladder.”

– William Faulkner

As you can see, Google was absolutely no help.

So, I figured I’d start things of less dramatically and just stick to the facts. My name is Bee, and I’m going to be your resident twenty-something student blogger this year! Basically, I have the coolest job in the world: I’m going to be taking you through Reelout’s fantastic resource library, watching, researching and writing about the films and books as a way of introducing you to what’s available, (for the low, low price of $10 a year! http://reelout.com/Reelout11/supportMembership.php), and then, when the films for this year’s festival are announced (yay!), I’ll be doing everything in my power to get you informed and excited, with some background info on the films and their creators.

The purpose of this blog is not just to give you a library catalogue, however. Much more than that, I’m hoping to use this forum as a means of opening up discussion about the subject of queer film in general. What makes a film “queer”? How is the queer community encapsulated in film and how has this changed over time and in relation to contemporary events? What does film in general do for public perception of gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender peoples, and how does it affect the queer community itself? What recurring themes and tropes can we find in different genres and eras of queer cinema? And finally, which of Reelout’s films are the most awesome? These are all question that I’d like to explore.

Input and discussion are always welcome, as are requests! Anything in particular you’d like me to watch and/or blog about, just say the word! Obscure questions? I’ll try and track down the answers! (Although, I may have a few questions of my own in response, i.e, “where can a person get decent sushi in this town?” and, “Is it true that Mark Wahlberg has a third nipple?”) Prepare yourselves for the most awesome Reelout yet!

Yours in cyberspace,

Bee

About Reelout

We host an 11-day queer film and video festival in Kingston, Canada in January/February each year!

Leave a Reply

